MHIMA logo

Mentor Award


The MHIMA Mentor of the Year Award is given annually to the one member of MHIMA who best exemplifies the ideal image of a mentor. This award is presented to an individual who has contributed to the support or development of mentoring health information professionals and students. The ideal candidate should demonstrate exemplary skill that contributes to intellectual growth and development of students/colleagues, career development for students/colleagues, provides professional guidance, and is a positive role model for students/colleagues.


You must be a MHIMA/AHIMA member to nominate someone for this award.

* Deadline to apply is March 31st.

Evaluation and Selection

The MHIMA Foundation composed of health information professionals will evaluate each application. The awardee is the applicant with the highest total number of points based on the scoring criteria to include mentoring activities, encouragement of the future of HIM, fostering motivation and enthusiasm, and the letter of recommendation.


Members may only receive the award one time.

Previous Winners

2022Megan Tober
2021Janna Pacey
Kim Ford
2020Erika Bailey
2019Susan Slajus
2018Nancy Kussrow
2017Paula Hagstrom
2016Marie Sickelsteel
2015Theresa Crump
2014Jody Scheller
2013Peggy Chapo
2011Patricia Rubio
2010Sandra Zubke